Press Releases


Kasich Announces Appointment to Franklin County Municipal Court

COLUMBUS – Today Governor John R. Kasich announced the appointment of Sean V. McCarthy of Columbus (Franklin Co.) serve as a judge on the Franklin County Municipal Court. McCarthy will assume office on July 27, 2015 and must run in November 2015 to retain the seat for the remainder of the unexpired term, which ends January 1, 2018.  McCarthy is replacing Judge David C. Young, who has been elected to the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas, General Division.

McCarthy received his bachelor of arts from Loyola University Chicago, attended graduate school at The Ohio State University and received his juris doctor from Capital University School of Law. Prior experience includes various positions in the Franklin County Prosecutor’s Office, including deputy director of the Drug Prosecution Unit. McCarthy most recently served as judge on the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas, General Division.

He is a veteran of the U.S. Army and served in Afghanistan from 2011-2012. McCarthy is a graduate of the Army Judge Advocate Officer Advanced Course.