Web Content Viewer

Governor DeWine Appoints Eklund to Eleventh District Court of Appeals

(COLUMBUS, Ohio)—Ohio Governor Mike DeWine today announced the judicial appointment of John J. Eklund to the Eleventh District Court of Appeals. 

Eklund, of Munson Township, will assume office on July 1, 2021, and will be replacing Judge Matt Lynch. Eklund will need to run for election in November 2022 in order to complete the unexpired term ending February 8, 2025. 

Eklund has been affiliated with Calfee, Halter and Griswold, LLP since 1980 as a member of Calfee's Antitrust and Trade Regulation Counseling and Litigation group. Additionally, Eklund has served as the Ohio State Senator for the 18th Senate District. He was appointed to fill an unexpired term in 2011, was elected to a full four-year term in November 2012, and reelected in November 2016. 

Eklund holds a Juris Doctorate from Washington and Lee University School of Law.  He earned a double Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and History from Union College.

Eklund is currently a member of the American Bar Association's Antitrust Law and Litigation Sections, the Ohio State Bar Association's Antitrust Section, and the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association. He is also a board member for Lake-Geauga Habitat for Humanity. Previously, he served on the boards of the Geauga County YMCA, United Way Services of Geauga County, Munson Township Zoning Commission, and the Chagrin River Land Conservancy. 

Eklund Headshot