Web Content Viewer

Governor DeWine Signs Bills Into Law

(CEDARVILLE, Ohio)—Ohio Governor Mike DeWine today signed the following bills into law.

Senate Bill 123, sponsored by Senators Matt Dolan and Nathan Manning, designates the Dunkleosteus terrelli as the state fossil fish.

House Bill 123, sponsored by Representative Gayle Manning and Former Representative Glenn Holmes, establishes the “Safety and Violence Education Students (SAVE Students) Act,” creating new school safety policy provisions. The bill also allows educational service centers to apply for school safety training grants, and begins a pilot program allotting additional funding for dropout prevention and recovery in E-schools.

House Bill 325, sponsored by Representatives Stephanie Howse and Joe Miller, designates February 18 as “Toni Morrison Day.” Morrison, a native of Lorain, Ohio, is a recipient of the Nobel Prize in literature and the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

Senate Bill 284, sponsored by Senators Jay Hottinger and Bob Peterson, amends Ohio law related to the purchasing and selling of reinsurance.

House Bill 412, sponsored by Representatives Randi Clites and Tim Ginter, creates the Rare Disease Advisory Council.

Senate Bill 252, sponsored by Senators Bob Hackett and Hearcel Craig, prohibits the use of “fail first” drug coverage policies for stage four advanced metastatic cancer patients.