Web Content Viewer

Executive Order 2020-37D

Establishing the Ohio Traffic Safety Council 

WHEREAS, overall fatalities on Ohio's roads have increased in five of the last six years; and 

WHEREAS, in 2018 there were more than 294,000 traffic crashes on Ohio's roads alone; and 

WHEREAS, between 2014 and 2019: 
Youthful drivers were involved in 582,710 crashes;
Unbelted drivers and passengers were involved in 272,747 vehicle crashes;
Speed contributed to 186,803 crashes;
Impaired drivers contributed to 83,489 crashes; 
Distracted drivers contributed to 79,515 crashes; and

WHEREAS, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's (NHTSA) national research estimates that 94 percent of serious crashes are due to driver errors; and 

WHEREAS, traffic safety enterprise and resources already exist within public, private, and nonprofit entities; and 

WHEREAS, many factors contribute to traffic crashes, I believe that it is critical that out public and private traffic safety partners collaborate and make recommendations to address behavioral and educational methods to increase traffic safety; and 

WHEREAS, we need to do all that we can to reduce crashes, to decrease injuries and to save lives. 

NOW THEREFORE, I Mike DeWine, Governor of the State of Ohio, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Constitution and laws of this State do hereby order and direct that: 

1. The Ohio Traffic Safety Council ("Council") is hereby established as an advisory body. 

2. The Council shall advise on the coordination of Ohio's traffic safety efforts with a focus on behavioral aspects and educational opportunities. 

3. The Council will bring together Ohio's traffic resources along with traffic safety partners to collaborate and share information in an effort to improve traffic safety, drivers training initiatives, and ensure the safety and wellbeing of all those using Ohio's roadways. 

4. The Council will advise the Director of the Department of Public Safety. 

5. Thomas Stickrath, the Director of the Department of Public Safety and any successor in office, or designee, shall serve as Council Chair. 

6. The Council will include the following members from within the Government of the State of Ohio who represent traffic safety stakeholders from State agencies: 

a. A designee of the Ohio Department of Transportation; 

b. A designee of the Ohio Turnpike Commission; 

c. A designee of the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio; 

d. A designee of the Ohio Department of Health; 

e. A designee of the Ohio Department of Insurance; and 

f. A designee of the Ohio Department of Education. 

Designations under this section will be made by the relevant agency head with the approval of the Director of Public Safety and in consultation with the Office of the Governor. 

7. I hereby invite the following federal, State, county, local government agencies, non-profit businesses, educational institutions, and private industry partners to submit the name of a representative to join the Council as a member: 

a. Ohio Attorney General's Office; 

b. National Highway Safety Administration; 

c. Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration; 

d. Federal Highway Administration; 

e. Buckeye State Sheriff Association; 

f. Ohio Association of Chiefs of Police; 

g. County Engineers Association; 

h. Ohio Township Association; 

i. Metropolitan Planning Organizations; 

j. The Ohio State University; 

k. Bowling Green State University; 

l. American Automobile Association; 

m. Mothers Against Drunk Driving; 

n. Family Career and Community Leaders of America; and 

o. Students Against Destructive Decisions. 

8. The Director of Public Safety may, at his discretion, appoint additional members to the Council in consultation with the Office of the Governor. Any member is subject to removal by the Director of Public Safety in consultation with the Office of the Governor. 

9. The Council shall meet no less than quarterly. 

10. Members of the Council shall serve without compensation. 

11. The Department of Public Safety shall provide support to staff and resources necessary for the Ohio Traffic Safety Council to function. 

I signed this Executive Order on September 10, 2020 in Columbus Ohio and it will not expire unless it is rescinded. 


Mike DeWine, Governor



Frank LaRose, Secretary of State