Antitrust Referral Analysis
Submittal by Board or Commission

Board or Commission: Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board

Contact Name: Charley L. Yaniko, Agency Counsel

Date: October 4, 2018

Referral Topic: Disciplinary Process for Unlicensed Salons

The Common Sense Initiative was established by Executive Order 2011-01K and placed
within the Office of the Lieutenant Governor. The CSI office was codified by ORC 107.52
for agency rule review. Additional scope was added in 2017 under ORC 107.56 which
describes actions to be reviewed by the CSI Office for determination of approval or
disapproval.

Referral Information

1. What is the action/proposed action being taken?

The Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board uses the following approach when the Board
identifies a facility where cosmetology, or a branch of cosmetology, is being practiced and the
facility or facility owner has never held a license issued under Chapter 4713 of the Revised Code.
This approach is based on the Board’s internal Violation Guidance Matrix and established Board

policy.

1%t Offense: The individual owner (either an individual real person or a registered business entity)
is issued a Notice of Opportunity for Hearing, along with a proposed Consent Agreement,
proposing a $250 fine.
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2" Offense: The individual owner (either an individual real person or a registered business entity)
is issued a Notice of Opportunity for Hearing, along with a proposed Consent Agreement,
proposing a $500 fine.

3 Offense: The individual owner (either an individual real person or a registered business entity)
is issued a Notice of Opportunity for Hearing, along with a proposed Consent Agreement,
proposing a $1,000 fine. The matter is also presented to the Board’s Administrative Review
Group to determine if additional action is necessary, and the recommendations of the
Administrative Review Group are presented to the full Board for review and approval at the next
regular, public meeting. These potential actions include referring the individual (or individual
agent(s) of a business entity) to the local prosecuting authority for consideration of potential
criminal charges under section 4713.99 of the Revised Code, and seeking an injunction against
the individual or business entity in accordance with section 4713.13 of the Revised Code.

4th (or more) Offense: The individual is issued a Notice of Opportunity for Hearing proposing a
$1,000 fine (no Consent Agreement is offered). The matter is also presented to the Board’s
Administrative Review Group to determine if additional action is necessary, and the
recommendations of the Administrative Review Group are presented to the full Board for review
and approval at the next regular, public meeting. These potential actions include referring the
individual (or individual agent(s) of a business entity) to the local prosecuting authority for
consideration of potential criminal charges under section 4713.99 of the Revised Code, and
seeking an injunction against the individual or business entity in accordance with section 4713.13
of the Revised Code.

In all cases where the Board seeks disciplinary action under Chapter 4713 of the Revised Code,
the Board issues a Notice of Opportunity for Hearing in accordance with R.C. 4713.64(G) that
sets forth a statement of the charges. This notice must be served upon the individual or business
in accordance with section 119.07 of the Revised Code. Once proper service has been obtained,
the individual or business may request a hearing pursuant to section 119.07 of the Revised Code.
If a hearing is requested, the Board holds an administrative hearing before a Hearing Officer in
accordance with Chapter 119 of the Revised Code, and the affected party is permitted to
participate in this hearing. If the individual or business fails to request a hearing pursuant to
section 119.07, and does not settle the matter through a consent agreement, the matter is
presented directly to the Board, and the Board is specifically authorized under R.C. 4713.64(G) to
impose disciplinary action, in accordance with the standardized process above, without holding a
hearing.

In a brief statement explain the factual background, nature, purpose and rationale of the
action/proposed action pertaining to this referral.

Section 4713.01 of the Revised Code provides definitions for “practice of braiding”, “practice of

cosmetology”, “practice of esthetics”, “practice of hair design”, “practice of manicuring”, and
“practice of natural hair styling”, as well as definitions for “braiding”, “shampooing”, and
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“threading”. These definitions clearly define the scopes of practice for the branches of
cosmetology. In addition, Section 4713.01 of the Revised Code also defines “licensed facility” as
*any premises, building, or part of a building licensed under section 4713.41 of the Revised Code
in which cosmetology services are authorized by the state cosmetology and barber board to be
performed,” and “salon” as “a licensed facility on any premises, building, or part of a building in
which an individual engages in the practice of one or more branches of cosmetology.” Further,
section 4701.01 of the Revised Code defines “beauty salon”, “boutique salon”, “esthetics salon”,
“hair design salon”, “nail salon”, and “natural hair style salon” by the branch of cosmetology
permitted to be practiced within the salon.

Board inspectors, during routine inspections of facilities and investigations of complaints,
encounter facilities where individual(s) are engaging in practices that are within the defined
scopes of practice for the branches of cosmetology, but the facility has never held a license issued
by the Board. As operating a salon without a current, valid license for the branch of cosmetology
being practiced within the salon is specifically listed as a prohibited act under division (1) of
section 4713.14 of the Revised Code, these facilities receive an inspection report noting this
alleged violation, unless they are covered by one of the exemptions or exceptions listed in
sections 4713.16 and 4713.17 of the Revised Code. This inspection report is then forwarded to
Board staff for the processing of a potential administrative action against the individual facility
owner (or business entity owner). The proposed action presented in this referral is the
standardized disciplinary approach for these administrative action cases. The Board is currently
holding a number of inspection reports noting a violation of R.C. 4713.14(1) for individual
owners (either an individual real person or a registered business entity) who have never held a
salon license issued by the Board, pending a decision on this referral.

Please check all of the following that apply as reasons the action/proposed action is subject to
review? (ORC 107.56(B)(1))?

(1 Fixes prices or limits price competition;

(1 Divides, allocates or assigns customers or potential customers or geographic markets in this
state among members of the occupation regulated by the boards;

Excludes present or potential competitors from the occupation regulated by the board,;

[ Limits output or supply in this state of any good or service provided by the members of the
regulated occupation;

(1 Prohibits offering a particular quality-level of a product or service;
[ Restricts advertising or makes it more expensive or less effective;

Substantially reduces the number of firms or providers that can serve a particular set of
customers; or
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L1 Any other activity that could be subject to state or federal antitrust law if undertaken by
private persons.

Is the action/proposed action explicitly compelled or specifically authorized by statute? If so,
please list the statute(s).

Yes. R.C. 4713.14(1) specifically prohibits operating salon without a current, valid license issued
under section 4713.41 of the Revised Code.

R.C. 4713.64(A)(1) authorizes the Board to take disciplinary action (including the imposition of
fines) for failure to comply with the licensing requirements of Chapter 4713 of the Revised Code.

R.C. 4713.99 establishes that a violation of R.C. 4713.14(1) is a fourth degree misdemeanor on a
first offense, and a third degree misdemeanor on each subsequent offense.

R.C. 4713.07(A)(2) and 4713.66(A) explicitly state that Board’s authority to investigate and/or
inspect activities or premises for alleged violations of Chapter 4713 of the Revised Code and the
rules promulgated thereunder, and to take disciplinary action for any such violations, applies to
unlicensed individuals.

Is the action/proposed action within the scope of the board or commission’s statutorily-delegated
general authority to regulate in a given occupation or industry? If so, please describe how it is
within scope and reference the statute.

N/A. The proposed process is specifically authorized by statute.

Please identify the clearly articulated state policy (e.g., health and safety, or consumer protection)
in state statute or rule, or any supporting evidence of the harm the action/proposed action is
intended to protect against?

The proposed action is designed to protect public health and safety and to provide protection for
consumers.

6a. How does the action/proposed action address the harm or advance the articulated state
policy?

The proposed action serves as a method to deter individuals from operating unlicensed
facilities. This helps to ensure that services in the branches of cosmetology are only
provided in facilities that meet initial safety and sanitation requirements and are subject to
inspection by the Board, which protects consumers from harm (chemical burns, skin
diseases, infections, etc.) that could be caused by unsafe or unsanitary practices.

If appropriate, explain the action/proposed action’s alleged consistency with state or federal
antitrust law, which may include a description of how the action or proposed action may affect
the number of competitors and those competitors incentive to compete in amount, quality, variety
or other aspects of the good or service offered.

The action is consistent with state and federal antitrust law as it implements a clearly articulated
state policy. Specifically, the Ohio General Assembly has determined that facilities offering
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services within the branches of cosmetology should be licensed and regulated, and have tasked
the Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board with carrying out this licensure and regulation.
The Ohio General Assembly has also directly stated that engaging in such practice without a
license is prohibited, and have even determined that such activity should be considered criminal
in nature. The Board’s proposed process carries out this state policy within the framework
established by the General Assembly in section 4713.64 and Chapter 119 of the Revised Code.

9. What process did the board or commission follow to arrive at its decision to take action/proposed
action including public hearings held, public comments invited, studies conducted, data collected
interviews conducted, etc.?

The Board developed its original Violation Guidance Matrix through a committee made up of
members of the Board and Board staff. This original Violation Guidance Matrix was adopted by
the Board during a public meeting on July 14, 2015. Am. Sub. SB 213 of the 131% General
Assembly, which took effect on September 13, 2016, changed the disciplinary provisions and fine
amounts in section 4713.64 of the Revised Code. Accordingly, the Violation Guidance Matrix
was modified to reflect the changes, and was simplified for ease of use. The Violation Guidance
Matrix is reviewed and updated whenever changes are made to Board statutes or rules, and the
current version, which has a revision date of July 19, 2018, was approved by the Board at its
regular meeting on August 13, 2018.

10. Does the action/ proposed action relate to or depend upon a question that is the subject of a
formal opinion request pending before the Ohio Attorney General?

No.

11. Provide any other information the board or commission deems appropriate for the Office’s review
of the action/proposed action.

The Board has attached a copy of its current Violation Guidance Matrix for Chapter 4713 of the
Revised Code and the rules promulgated thereunder. This matrix has been annotated to assist with
CSl review.

*Send this completed form, a complete copy of action or proposed action, and any other documentation
deemed appropriate for evaluation to CSIReferrals@governor.ohio.gov.

77 South High Street | 30t Floor | Columbus, Ohio 43215-6117
CSIReferrals@governor.ohio.gov

-5-


mailto:CSIReferrals@governor.ohio.gov

OHIO STATE COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER BOARD

To protect and support the public through regulation and education, while promoting the integrity of the cosmetology and barbering industries.

Violation Guidance Matrix — Cosmetology

Revision Date 07/19/2018

*ANNOTATED FOR CSI REVIEW*



All violations charged under R.C. 4713.64(A), unless noted separately, shall be fined as follows:

Occurrence Violation Additional First-Time Violations
in the Same Inspection

1st $250 $100 each

2nd $500 $200 each

3rd $1000 $300 each

4th $1000 or Suspend/Revoke $300 each

Each violation must be monitored for the number of past occurrences to ensure the appropriate fine amount, as only first-time violations will be
given the reduced amount for additional violations. For example, if a salon is found in violation of OAC 4713-1-10 and OAC 4713-15-10, they
would be fined $350 ($250 for one first-time violation, and $100 for the additional first-time violation). If, during a later inspection, the salon was
found in violation of the same two rules plus an additional rule, they would be fined $1,200 ($500 for each second-time violation, and $200 for the
additional first-time violation).

First-Time Warning Violations

The following violations shall receive warnings on a first violation, and will then follow the process from the table above for additional violations
(with the second violation being treated as a first violation for fine purposes), unless noted separately:

4713.14(F) — Glamour Photography Services

4713-15-03(C) — Labeling of Disinfectant Containers

4713.56 — Posting or Producing Licenses

4713-15-03(E) — Storage of Unused Porous Implements

4713-1-06 (B) — Services in Medical Facilities

4713-15-04 — Cleaning and Disinfecting Shampoo Bowls

4713-1-08 — Approval of Chemicals, Equipment, & Services

4713-15-05 — Neck Protection

4713-1-09 — Animals in a Salon

4713-15-06 — Dispensing Creams

4713-1-10(D)(5) — Posting Inspection Reports

4713-15-09 — Dispensing Powders

4713-1-11(A) — Changes in Personal Information

4713-15-11 — Proper Laundering

4713-1-12(A) — Sign in English

4713-15-15(A) — Maintaining Equipment Manuals

4713-1-12(D) — Facility Sign Visible from Street

4713-15-15(C) — Disinfecting Heated Equipment

4713-1-14(B) — Human Trafficking Posters
*Warnings are issued for all occurrences*

4713-15-15(D) - Cleaning and Disinfecting Electrical
Equipment and Attachments

4713-3-05(A)(3) — Posting Sanitary Rules in School Clinics
and Classrooms

4713-15-17 - Infection Control of Rooms Used for Other
Professional Services

4713-3-05(B)(3) — Furnishing School Ads to the Board

4713-19-04(A)(5) — Handrail on Tanning Booths

4713-5-08(A) and (B) — Filing School Rules with the Board and

4713-19-04(A)(6) — Instruction on Body Position in Tanning




listing in School Handbook

Units

4713-5-16 — Maintaining Board Law, Rules, and Notices in
Schools

4713-19-04(A)(12) - Installing Bulbs to Allow Inspectors to
Clearly View Bulbs

4713-5-22 — Paying Students for Clinic Services in Schools

4713-19-05(C)(4) — Maintaining Equipment Manuals for
Sunlamp Products

4713-6-03 — Schools Must Submit Internship Agreements

4713-19-05(C)(5) — Prohibition on Storing Disinfectants and
Cleaners in Tanning Rooms

4713-6-05 — Student Interns Must Wear ID Cards

4713-19-08(A) — Requirements for Residential Tanning
Facilities

4713.081 - Posting of Board Sanitary Standards

4713-19-13 — Notification and Removal of Tanning Equipment
when a Salon Ceases Offering Tanning

4713-11-05 — Restroom Requirement in Salons

4713.082 — Posting Tanning Standards

4713-15-01 — General Cleanliness and Infection Control of

4713.48(B) — Posting of Tanning Permit

Service Areas

Other Violations

The following violations shall be acted upon as noted below, and shall not follow the standard fine procedure noted above:

4713.14(A) — Fraud or
Deceit in License
Application

1%t Occurrence: Denial for one (1) year
2" Occurrence: Denied

4713.14(B)(2) — Aiding
or Abetting Someone
to Falsely Obtain a
License

1t Occurrence: Suspend two (2) years
2" Qccurrence: Revoke

4713.14(B)(3) -
Aiding or Abetting
Someone to Pretend to
Hold a License

1t Occurrence: Suspend two (2) years
2" Qccurrence: Revoke

4713.14(C)(1-5) -
Practicing Without a

Follow normal fine schedule, with the following exceptions on a first-time violation:

Valid License No License: Fine and verify practice has ceased.
License not renewed (within 30 days of expiration): Verify renewal, and if not, fine.
4713.14(H) - Follow normal fine schedule, with the following exceptions on a first-time violation:

Practicing as an
Independent Contractor
Without a Valid IC
License

No license: 30 day abeyance.

License not renewed (within 30 days of expiration): Verify renewal, and if not, fine.

4713.14(1) — Operating

Follow normal fine schedule, with the following exception on a first-time violation:




a Salon Without a
Valid License

License not renewed (within 30 days of expiration): Verify renewal, and if not, fine.

4713.14(L) -
Operating a School of
Cosmetology Without
a Valid License

Follow normal fine schedule for first two occurrences, with the following exceptions
on a first-time violation:

No License: Verify operations have ceased until in compliance.

License not renewed (within to 30 days of expiration): Verify renewal, and if not,
fine.

3" Occurrence: Denial

4713.14(P) — Operating
a Tanning Facility
Without a Valid

Follow normal fine schedule, with the following exception on a first-time violation:

License not renewed (within 30 days of expiration): Verify renewal, and if not, fine.

License
4713.50(A), (B)(2)-(3) | 1% Occurrence: $500
— Tanning Age 2" Qccurrence: $500 or suspend/revoke

Restrictions

3 Occurrence: $1,000 or suspend/revoke

4713-1-07(D) -
Interference with a
Board Inspector

Follow normal fine schedule for first two occurrences.

314 Occurrence: Suspend/Revoke

4713-3-05(B)(2)(d) -
Advertising that a
School is Open before
Obtaining a License

15t Occurrence: $250
2" Occurrence: Closure until valid
3" Occurrence: Denial

4713-5-13(B) — School
Must File Training
Record Within 15 days
of a Transfer Request

1t Occurrence: $250
2" Occurrence: $500
3 Occurrence: Suspend/Revoke

4713-5-15(A) - (D) —
School Obligations
when a Student
Withdraws

1st Occurrence: $250
2nd Occurrence: $500
3 Occurrence: Suspend/Revoke

4713.64(A)(3)-(6) —
Drunkeness/Addiction,
False Advertising,
Falsification of
Records, and Failure to
Comply with Board
Order

Board discretion, but fines cannot exceed the maximum amounts in R.C. 4713.64(E)

4713-11-03(B) —
Sewage Disposal

1st Occurrence: $250
2nd Occurrence: $500
3 Occurrence: Suspend/Revoke

4713-11-04 — State,
Local, and Federal

Refer to agency with jurisdiction.




Permits

4713-11-05 -
Restrooms (After
Receiving an Initial
Warning)

1st Occurrence: $250
2nd Occurrence: $500
3 Occurrence: Suspend/Revoke

4713-11-10(A)(1) —
Services in a Salon by
Other Licensed
Professionals

Refer to agency with jurisdiction.

4713-11-14(A)(4) -
Waste Disposal for a
Mobile Salon

Refer to agency with jurisdiction.

4713.42 — Licensed
Cosmetic or Massage
Therapist Practicing in
a Salon

Refer to agency with jurisdiction.
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