
77 South High Street | 30th Floor | Columbus, Ohio 43215-6117 
CSIReferrals@governor.ohio.gov 

 

Board or Commission: Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board_________________ 

Contact Name: Charley L. Yaniko, Agency Counsel______________________________ 

Date: October 4, 2018 _______________________________________________________ 

 

Referral Topic: Disciplinary Process for Unlicensed Tanning Facilities_______________ 

 

 

 

 

 

Antitrust Referral Analysis 
Submittal by Board or Commission 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Common Sense Initiative was established by Executive Order 2011-01K and placed 
within the Office of the Lieutenant Governor. The CSI office was codified by ORC 107.52 
for agency rule review. Additional scope was added in 2017 under ORC 107.56 which 
describes actions to be reviewed by the CSI Office for determination of approval or 
disapproval.   
 

Referral Information 

 
1. What is the action/proposed action being taken?  

 
The Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board uses the following approach when the Board 
identifies a facility where a form of a tanning is being offered and the facility or facility owner 
has never held a permit issued under Chapter 4713 of the Revised Code. This approach is based 
on the Board’s internal Violation Guidance Matrix and established Board policy. 
 
1st Offense: The individual owner (either an individual real person or a registered business entity) 
is issued a Notice of Opportunity for Hearing, along with a proposed Consent Agreement, 
proposing a $250 fine. 
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2nd Offense: The individual owner (either an individual real person or a registered business entity) 
is issued a Notice of Opportunity for Hearing, along with a proposed Consent Agreement, 
proposing a $500 fine.  
 
3rd Offense: The individual owner (either an individual real person or a registered business entity) 
is issued a Notice of Opportunity for Hearing, along with a proposed Consent Agreement, 
proposing a $1,000 fine. The matter is also presented to the Board’s Administrative Review 
Group to determine if additional action is necessary, and the recommendations of the 
Administrative Review Group are presented to the full Board for review and approval at the next 
regular, public meeting. These potential actions include referring the individual (or individual 
agent(s) of a business entity) to the local prosecuting authority for consideration of potential 
criminal charges under section 4713.99 of the Revised Code, and seeking an injunction against 
the individual or business entity in accordance with section 4713.13 of the Revised Code.  
 
4th (or more) Offense: The individual is issued a Notice of Opportunity for Hearing proposing a 
$1,000 fine (no Consent Agreement is offered). The matter is also presented to the Board’s 
Administrative Review Group to determine if additional action is necessary, and the 
recommendations of the Administrative Review Group are presented to the full Board for review 
and approval at the next regular, public meeting. These potential actions include referring the 
individual (or individual agent(s) of a business entity) to the local prosecuting authority for 
consideration of potential criminal charges under section 4713.99 of the Revised Code, and 
seeking an injunction against the individual or business entity in accordance with section 4713.13 
of the Revised Code. 
 
In all cases where the Board seeks disciplinary action under Chapter 4713 of the Revised Code, 
the Board issues a Notice of Opportunity for Hearing in accordance with R.C. 4713.64(G) that 
sets forth a statement of the charges. This notice must be served upon the individual or business 
in accordance with section 119.07 of the Revised Code. Once proper service has been obtained, 
the individual or business may request a hearing pursuant to section 119.07 of the Revised Code. 
If a hearing is requested, the Board holds an administrative hearing before a Hearing Officer in 
accordance with Chapter 119 of the Revised Code, and the affected party is permitted to 
participate in this hearing. If the individual or business fails to request a hearing pursuant to 
section 119.07, and does not settle the matter through a consent agreement, the matter is 
presented directly to the Board, and the Board is specifically authorized under R.C. 4713.64(G) to 
impose disciplinary action, in accordance with the standardized process above, without holding a 
hearing. 
 

2. In a brief statement explain the factual background, nature, purpose and rationale of the 
action/proposed action pertaining to this referral. 

Section 4713.01 of the Revised Code defines “tanning facility” as  
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…any premises, building, or part of a building that contains one or more rooms 
or booths with any of the following: 
(A) Equipment or beds used for tanning human skin by the use of fluorescent sun 
lamps using ultraviolet or other artificial radiation; 
(B) Equipment or booths that use chemicals applied to human skin, including 
chemical applications commonly referred to as spray-on, mist-on, or sunless tans; 
(C) Equipment or beds that use visible light for cosmetic purposes. 

 
Board inspectors, during routine inspections of facilities and investigations of complaints, 
encounter facilities one or more of the following types of tanning.  As operating a tanning facility 
without a current, valid permit is specifically listed as a prohibited act under division (P) of 
section 4713.14 of the Revised Code, these facilities receive an inspection report noting this 
alleged violation, unless they are covered by one of the exemptions or exceptions listed in 
sections 4713.16 and 4713.17 of the Revised Code.  This inspection report is then forwarded to 
Board staff for the processing of a potential administrative action against the individual facility 
owner (or business entity owner). The proposed action presented in this referral is the 
standardized disciplinary approach for these administrative action cases.  The Board is currently 
holding a number of inspection reports noting a violation of R.C. 4713.14(P) for individual 
owners (either an individual real person or a registered business entity) who have never held a 
tanning facility permit issued by the Board, pending a decision on this referral. 

3. Please check all of the following that apply as reasons the action/proposed action is subject to 
review? (ORC 107.56(B)(1))? 

 
☐  Fixes prices or limits price competition; 
 
☐  Divides, allocates or assigns customers or potential customers or geographic markets in this 

state among members of the occupation regulated by the boards; 
 
☒  Excludes present or potential competitors from the occupation regulated by the board; 
 
☐  Limits output or supply in this state of any good or service provided by the members of the 

regulated occupation; 
 
☐ Prohibits offering a particular quality-level of a product or service; 
 
☐ Restricts advertising or makes it more expensive or less effective; 
 
☒ Substantially reduces the number of firms or providers that can serve a particular set of 

customers; or  
 
☐ Any other activity that could be subject to state or federal antitrust law if undertaken by 

private persons. 
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4. Is the action/proposed action explicitly compelled or specifically authorized by statute?  If so, 
please list the statute(s). 

 
Yes. R.C. 4713.14(P) specifically prohibits operating a tanning facility that is offered to the 
public for a fee or other compensation without a current, valid permit issued under section 
4713.48 of the Revised Code.  
 
R.C. 4713.64(A)(1) authorizes the Board to take disciplinary action (including the imposition of 
fines) for failure to comply with the licensing requirements of Chapter 4713 of the Revised Code. 
 
R.C. 4713.99 establishes that a violation of R.C. 4713.14(P) is a fourth degree misdemeanor on a 
first offense, and a third degree misdemeanor on each subsequent offense. 
 
R.C. 4713.07(A)(2) and 4713.66(A) explicitly state that the Board’s authority to investigate 
and/or inspect activities or premises for alleged violations of Chapter 4713 of the Revised Code 
and the rules promulgated thereunder, and to take disciplinary action for any such violations, 
applies to unlicensed individuals.   
 

5. Is the action/proposed action within the scope of the board or commission’s statutorily-delegated 
general authority to regulate in a given occupation or industry? If so, please describe how it is 
within scope and reference the statute. 
 
N/A. The proposed process is specifically authorized by statute.  
 

6. Please identify the clearly articulated state policy (e.g., health and safety, or consumer protection) 
in state statute or rule, or any supporting evidence of the harm the action/proposed action is 
intended to protect against? 

 
The proposed action is designed to protect public health and safety and to provide protection for 
consumers.  
 

6a. How does the action/proposed action address the harm or advance the articulated state 
policy? 

 
The proposed action serves as a method to deter individuals from operating tanning 
facilities without a permit. This helps to ensure that tanning services are only provided in 
facilities that meet initial safety and sanitation requirements and are subject to inspection by 
the Board, which protects consumers from harm (overexposure, burns, skin diseases, 
infections, etc.) that could be caused by unsafe or unsanitary practices. 

 
8. If appropriate, explain the action/proposed action’s alleged consistency with state or federal 

antitrust law, which may include a description of how the action or proposed action may affect 
the number of competitors and those competitors incentive to compete in amount, quality, variety 
or other aspects of the good or service offered. 

 
The action is consistent with state and federal antitrust law as it implements a clearly articulated 
state policy.  Specifically, the Ohio General Assembly has determined that facilities offering 
tanning services should be permitted and regulated, and have tasked the Ohio State Cosmetology 
and Barber Board with carrying out this permit process and regulation.  The Ohio General 
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Assembly has also directly stated that engaging in such practice without a permit is prohibited, 
and have even determined that such activity should be considered criminal in nature. The Board’s 
proposed process carries out this state policy within the framework established by the General 
Assembly in section 4713.64 and Chapter 119 of the Revised Code. 
 

9. What process did the board or commission follow to arrive at its decision to take action/proposed 
action including public hearings held, public comments invited, studies conducted, data collected 
interviews conducted, etc.? 

The Board developed its original Violation Guidance Matrix through a committee made up of 
members of the Board and Board staff.  This original Violation Guidance Matrix was adopted by 
the Board during a public meeting on July 14, 2015. Am. Sub. SB 213 of the 131st General 
Assembly, which took effect on September 13, 2016, changed the disciplinary provisions and fine 
amounts in section 4713.64 of the Revised Code.  Accordingly, the Violation Guidance Matrix 
was modified to reflect the changes, and was simplified for ease of use.  The Violation Guidance 
Matrix is reviewed and updated whenever changes are made to Board statutes or rules, and the 
current version, which has a revision date of July 19, 2018, was approved by the Board at its 
regular meeting on August 13, 2018. 

10. Does the action/ proposed action relate to or depend upon a question that is the subject of a 
formal opinion request pending before the Ohio Attorney General? 

No. 

11. Provide any other information the board or commission deems appropriate for the Office’s review 
of the action/proposed action.  

 
The Board has attached a copy of its current Violation Guidance Matrix for Chapter 4713 of the 
Revised Code and the rules promulgated thereunder. This matrix has been annotated to assist with 
CSI review. 

 
*Send this completed form, a complete copy of action or proposed action, and any other documentation 
deemed appropriate for evaluation to CSIReferrals@governor.ohio.gov.  

mailto:CSIReferrals@governor.ohio.gov


       
 

Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board 
To protect and support the public through regulation and education, while promoting the integrity of the cosmetology and barbering industries. 

 
 

 
 

Violation Guidance Matrix – Cosmetology 
Revision Date 07/19/2018 

 
*ANNOTATED FOR CSI REVIEW* 

 



All violations charged under R.C. 4713.64(A), unless noted separately, shall be fined as follows: 

Occurrence Violation Additional First-Time Violations 
in the Same Inspection 

1st $250 $100 each 
2nd $500 $200 each 
3rd $1000 $300 each 
4th $1000 or Suspend/Revoke $300 each 

 

Each violation must be monitored for the number of past occurrences to ensure the appropriate fine amount, as only first-time violations will be 
given the reduced amount for additional violations.  For example, if a salon is found in violation of OAC 4713-1-10 and OAC 4713-15-10, they 
would be fined $350 ($250 for one first-time violation, and $100 for the additional first-time violation).  If, during a later inspection, the salon was 
found in violation of the same two rules plus an additional rule, they would be fined $1,200 ($500 for each second-time violation, and $200 for the 
additional first-time violation). 

 
First-Time Warning Violations 

The following violations shall receive warnings on a first violation, and will then follow the process from the table above for additional violations 
(with the second violation being treated as a first violation for fine purposes), unless noted separately: 

 

4713.14(F) – Glamour Photography Services 4713-15-03(C) – Labeling of Disinfectant Containers 
4713.56 – Posting or Producing Licenses 4713-15-03(E) – Storage of Unused Porous Implements 

4713-1-06 (B) – Services in Medical Facilities 4713-15-04 – Cleaning and Disinfecting Shampoo Bowls 
4713-1-08 – Approval of Chemicals, Equipment, & Services 4713-15-05 – Neck Protection 

4713-1-09 – Animals in a Salon 4713-15-06 – Dispensing Creams 
4713-1-10(D)(5) – Posting Inspection Reports 4713-15-09 – Dispensing Powders 

4713-1-11(A) – Changes in Personal Information 4713-15-11 – Proper Laundering 
4713-1-12(A) – Sign in English 4713-15-15(A) – Maintaining Equipment Manuals 

4713-1-12(D) – Facility Sign Visible from Street 4713-15-15(C) – Disinfecting Heated Equipment 
4713-1-14(B) – Human Trafficking Posters 
*Warnings are issued for all occurrences* 

4713-15-15(D) – Cleaning and Disinfecting Electrical 
Equipment and Attachments 

4713-3-05(A)(3) – Posting Sanitary Rules in School Clinics 
and Classrooms 

4713-15-17 – Infection Control of Rooms Used for Other 
Professional Services 

4713-3-05(B)(3) – Furnishing School Ads to the Board 4713-19-04(A)(5) – Handrail on Tanning Booths 
4713-5-08(A) and (B) – Filing School Rules with the Board and 4713-19-04(A)(6) – Instruction on Body Position in Tanning 



listing in School Handbook Units 
4713-5-16 – Maintaining Board Law, Rules, and Notices in 

Schools 
4713-19-04(A)(12) – Installing Bulbs to Allow Inspectors to 

Clearly View Bulbs 
4713-5-22 – Paying Students for Clinic Services in Schools 4713-19-05(C)(4) – Maintaining Equipment Manuals for 

Sunlamp Products 
4713-6-03 – Schools Must Submit Internship Agreements 4713-19-05(C)(5) – Prohibition on Storing Disinfectants and 

Cleaners in Tanning Rooms 
4713-6-05 – Student Interns Must Wear ID Cards 4713-19-08(A) – Requirements for Residential Tanning 

Facilities 
4713.081 – Posting of Board Sanitary Standards 4713-19-13 – Notification and Removal of Tanning Equipment 

when a Salon Ceases Offering Tanning  
4713-11-05 – Restroom Requirement in Salons 4713.082 – Posting Tanning Standards 

4713-15-01 – General Cleanliness and Infection Control of 
Service Areas 

4713.48(B) – Posting of Tanning Permit 

 

Other Violations 

The following violations shall be acted upon as noted below, and shall not follow the standard fine procedure noted above: 

 

4713.14(A) – Fraud or 
Deceit in License 
Application 

1st Occurrence: Denial for one (1) year 
2nd Occurrence: Denied 

4713.14(B)(2) – Aiding 
or Abetting Someone 
to Falsely Obtain a 
License 

1st Occurrence: Suspend two (2) years 
2nd Occurrence: Revoke 

4713.14(B)(3) – 
Aiding or Abetting 
Someone to Pretend to 
Hold a License 

1st Occurrence: Suspend two (2) years 
2nd Occurrence: Revoke 

4713.14(C)(1-5) – 
Practicing Without a 
Valid License 

Follow normal fine schedule, with the following exceptions on a first-time violation: 
 
No License: Fine and verify practice has ceased. 
 
License not renewed (within 30 days of expiration): Verify renewal, and if not, fine.  

4713.14(H) – 
Practicing as an 
Independent Contractor 
Without a Valid IC 
License 

Follow normal fine schedule, with the following exceptions on a first-time violation: 
 
No license: 30 day abeyance. 
 
License not renewed (within 30 days of expiration): Verify renewal, and if not, fine. 

4713.14(I) – Operating Follow normal fine schedule, with the following exception on a first-time violation: 



a Salon Without a 
Valid License 

 
License not renewed (within 30 days of expiration): Verify renewal, and if not, fine. 

4713.14(L) – 
Operating a School of 
Cosmetology Without 
a Valid License 

Follow normal fine schedule for first two occurrences, with the following exceptions 
on a first-time violation: 
 
No License: Verify operations have ceased until in compliance. 
 
License not renewed (within to 30 days of expiration): Verify renewal, and if not, 
fine.  
 
3rd Occurrence: Denial 

4713.14(P) – Operating 
a Tanning Facility 
Without a Valid 
License 

Follow normal fine schedule, with the following exception on a first-time violation: 
 
License not renewed (within 30 days of expiration): Verify renewal, and if not, fine. 

4713.50(A), (B)(2)-(3) 
– Tanning Age 
Restrictions 

1st Occurrence: $500 
2nd Occurrence: $500 or suspend/revoke 
3rd Occurrence: $1,000 or suspend/revoke 

4713-1-07(D) – 
Interference with a 
Board Inspector 

Follow normal fine schedule for first two occurrences. 
 
3rd Occurrence: Suspend/Revoke 

  4713-3-05(B)(2)(d) – 
Advertising that a 
School is Open before 
Obtaining a License 

1st Occurrence: $250 
2nd Occurrence: Closure until valid 
3rd Occurrence: Denial 

4713-5-13(B) – School 
Must File Training 
Record Within 15 days 
of a Transfer Request 

1st Occurrence: $250 
2nd Occurrence: $500 
3rd Occurrence: Suspend/Revoke 

4713-5-15(A) – (D) – 
School Obligations 
when a Student 
Withdraws 

1st Occurrence: $250 
2nd Occurrence: $500 
3rd Occurrence: Suspend/Revoke 

4713.64(A)(3)-(6) – 
Drunkeness/Addiction, 
False Advertising, 
Falsification of 
Records, and Failure to 
Comply with Board 
Order 

Board discretion, but fines cannot exceed the maximum amounts in R.C. 4713.64(E) 

4713-11-03(B) – 
Sewage Disposal 

1st Occurrence: $250 
2nd Occurrence: $500 
3rd Occurrence: Suspend/Revoke 

4713-11-04 – State, 
Local, and Federal 

Refer to agency with jurisdiction. 



Permits 
4713-11-05 – 
Restrooms (After 
Receiving an Initial 
Warning) 

1st Occurrence: $250 
2nd Occurrence: $500 
3rd Occurrence: Suspend/Revoke 

  4713-11-10(A)(1) – 
Services in a Salon by 
Other Licensed 
Professionals 

Refer to agency with jurisdiction. 

4713-11-14(A)(4) – 
Waste Disposal for a 
Mobile Salon 

Refer to agency with jurisdiction. 

4713.42 – Licensed 
Cosmetic or Massage 
Therapist Practicing in 
a Salon 

Refer to agency with jurisdiction. 
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